Berlin, Germany
Max-Planck Society's Harnack-Haus, Dahlem
18-21 May 2004

Berlin, Germany Max-Planck Society's Harnack-Haus, Dahlem 18-21 May 2004

A symposium hosted by the Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie
Endorsed by the International SKA Steering Committee
Sponsored by the European Southern Observatory, the European Space Agency, the Max-Planck-Gesellschaft and the EU Consortia RadioNet and Opticon

Conference description

The symposium in Berlin was dedicated to presenting and discussing the fundamental scientific problems that will be addressed by major future astrophysical facilities in the next few decades. The meeting program featured 11 invited reviews 27 contributed talks and 49 posters. The meeting was attended by 160 participants from 17 countries. Abstracts of all contributions and copies of electronic presentations made at the meeting are available at this website. A collection of photographs taken during the symposium can be viewed online. For more details about the scope of the symposium please take a look at the concept of the meeting.

Invited speakers

Catherine Cesarsky, Jose Cernicharo, Ron Ekers, Roberto Gilmozzi, Guenther Hasinger, Thomas Henning, Simon Lilly, Michael Perryman, Steve Rawlings, Bernard Schutz, Rashid Sunyaev

Scientific Organizing Committee

Anton Zensus (MPIfR, chair), Philip Diamond (JBO, co-chair), Catherine Cesarsky (ESO, co-chair), Andrei Lobanov (MPIfR, secretary), Steven Beckwith (STScI), Roy Booth (OSO), Chris Carilli (NRAO), Reinhard Genzel (MPIE), Gerry Gilmore (OPTICON), Roberto Gilmozzi (ESO), Alvaro Gimenez (ESA), Fred K.Y. Lo (NRAO), John Mather (NASA GSFC), Ewine van Dishoeck (Leiden Observatory).

Local Scientific Advisory Board

Karsten Danzmann (AEI, Potsdam), Ralf-Jürgen Dettmar (Uni. Bochum), Andreas Eckart (Uni. Köln), Guenther Hasinger (MPE, Garching), Werner Hofmann (MPIK, Heidelberg), Karl Menten (MPIfR, Bonn), Thomas Henning (MPIA, Heidelberg), Sami Solanki (MPIA, Lindau), Klaus Strassmeier (AIP, Potsdam), Hans-Walter Rix (MPIA, Heidelberg), Gerd Weigelt (MPIfR, Bonn)

Event Coordination

Rolf Schwartz (chair), Beate Naunheim, Gabi Breuer, Ute Runkel (MPIfR), "MildeMarketing" (Potsdam).

Go to Editor View