The University of Bonn

The Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn, founded on October 18th, 1818, is among the largest universities in Germany with around 38,500 students. Approximately 5,200 foreign students from more than 130 countries and a large number of visiting professors and lecturers from abroad give an international dimension to teaching and research.

The academic reputation of the University of Bonn is determined by the achievements of its 530 professors, 3,000 other academic staff and 5,200 non-academic personnel. Two professors got the Nobel Price while being teaching in Bonn: 1989, Physics: Wolfgang Paul (1913-1993) and 1994, Economics: Reinhard Selten (*1930). Among the famous professors, F.W. Argelander (Astronomy), F. Hausdorff (Mathematics), H. Hertz (Physics), W. Paul (Physics), J. Ratzinger (a.k.a. Benedictus XVI, Theology), or F.A. Kekulé (Chemistry). Famous students were K. Adenauer (politician), J. Habermas (philosopher), H. Heine (writer), K. Marx (economist, philosopher and politician), F. Nietzsche (philosopher), R. Schuman (politician) or William II (Emperor).

The institutes, departments and clinics of the University of Bonn are situated in various parts of the city rather than being concentrated on a campus. The Main Building, which also houses the administration, is located in the centre of the city.

The Faculty of Sciences and Natural Sciences

The Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences is organised into six sections:

  • Mathematics/Computer Science
  • Physics/Astronomy
  • Chemistry
  • Geosciences
  • Biology
  • Pharmacy

Most of the Science Institutes are located in the districts of Poppelsdorf and Endenich.


On November 23rd, 2001 the Bonn International Graduate School in Mathematics, Physics & Astronomy (BIGS-MPA) was founded to promote graduate studies at the University of Bonn. The IMPRS works in close co-operation with BIGS. Any student from the IMPRS can be automatically admitted at the BIGS.

Go to Editor View